Legal/Regulatory Committee

Committee Chair

Joel Rubin
Seyfarth Shaw LLP


Committee Members

Rich Gordet 
Ropes & Gray LLP

Spencer C. Johnson
King & Spalding LLP

Ken Muller
DLA Piper LLP (US)

Sanford Presant
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Matthew Posthuma
Ropes Gray LLP

Kelly Ryan
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Joshua Sternoff
Paul Hastings LLP



The Legal/Regulatory Committee will monitor, interpret, and provide information on legislation and/or regulations that may have an effect on institutional investment in real estate.



The committee comprises approximately five members. The membership consists of the Chairperson of the Legal/Regulatory Committee (which may be either a board or non-board member); four members with a legal background and/or a strong interest in legislative and regulatory issues, one of which will be a member of the Plan Sponsor Council Executive Committee. The exact size of the committee will be determined by the President.



  • Committee Chairperson will serve a term of two years or more at the president's discretion
  • Members of the committee will serve two-year terms



  • The committee will provide a forum through which members concerned about legislation or regulations affecting institutional investment in real estate will have the opportunity to discuss them, their implications and any actions that could be taken by interested parties independent of PREA
  • Produce for PREA membership legislative alerts of the latest action at both state and federal levels that relate to real estate
  • Hold an open meeting during the conferences for the purpose of soliciting direct input from the membership
  • Other, as determined




Affinius Capital


Europa Capital




TA Realty